Cancelling a Class Section

When a class section will no longer be offered for the term, the section needs to be cancelled in Maintain Schedule of Classes (MSC) as soon as possible. Classes with zero enrollment on the 5th day of the term will be cancelled ensure that an accurate picture of the Schedule of Classes is in the system on Census Day (10th day of instruction). 

How to Cancel a Class Section

Enrollment Capacity to 0

Updating the Enrollment Capacity field to "0" stops further enrollment, hides the section in some Schedule of Classes components, and shows the section as Closed in other components.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Curriculum Management > Maintain Schedule of Classes > Enrollment Control tab > Enrollment Capacity field

Class Roster

  • Always run a Class Roster prior to requesting that a class section be cancelled. This report will not be available after students have been removed from the class.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Curriculum Management > Class Roster > Class Roster

Enrollment Request Search

  • If a section is accidentally cancelled before a Class Roster is obtained, Enrollment Request Search can be used to find historical data for the class.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Records and Enrollment > Enroll Students > Enrollment Request Search

Before the start of the term

Department are responsible for dropping students from the section through the Drop Deadline (Session Deadlines). Department Coordinators have access using Enrollment Request or Block Enroll Merge. Alternatively, department schedulers may request that the Campus Scheduler drop the students using Notes/Request. Students should NOT be asked to drop/withdraw from the class themselves. This is an administrative action and the department needs to take the action to remove the students from a cancelled class.

Enrollment Request

  • Use Enrollment Request to drop <5 students.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Records and Enrollment > Enroll Students > Enrollment Request

Block Enroll Merge

  • Use Block Enroll Merge to drop 5+ students.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Records and Enrollment > Enroll Students > Block Enrollment > Block Enroll Merge

"Cancelled Section" process in MSC

  • Departments may request that the Campus Scheduler drop the students before the start of the term. The Campus Scheduler will change Class Status to "Cancelled Section". This process will remove all students from the course and delete the Meeting Pattern. This is NOT an option once the term has started. More information on what happens when "Cancelled Section" is selected.

  • myWSU > Main Menu > Curriculum Management > Maintain Schedule of Classes > Meetings tab > Notes/Request field

After the term has started

Campus Schedulers may no longer use the "Cancelled Section" option mentioned in 3a. to drop students from the course once the term has started. Student enrollment has been reported to the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) and the "Cancelled Section" process deletes all records of the student's enrollment causing reporting errors with NSC.

Before the Drop Deadline

After the Drop Deadline

  • Campus Schedulers can perform a retroactive drop to drop the class without a "W" on the student's transcript. Request this in Notes/Request. Most Campus Schedulers no longer review Notes/Requests after Census Day, so an email to the Campus Scheduler will also be required. See 3a. for navigation information.

Student has ONE class and you're cancelling it

Once the term has started, an Administrative Term Withdrawal must be performed by the campus Registrar's Office when the student's last class is cancelled.

  • Notify the campus Registrar's Office to request an Administrative Term Withdrawal listing the withdrawal date as the first day of the term.

  • Do not ask the student to perform the term withdrawal; this will cause errors later. Enrollment is reported to the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC); the Administrative Term Withdrawal is required to prevent errors at the NSC.

Notify students

Students should NOT be asked to drop/withdraw from the class themselves. This is an administrative action and the department needs to take the action to remove the students from a cancelled class.

If the "Cancelled Section" process is run the Campus Scheduler, students will receive notification that the class was cancelled.

Leave a Notes/Request to set Class Status to Tentative or Cancelled Section. Date and initial the request. The Campus Scheduler will set class status as requested and uncheck the Approved Section checkbox to unapprove the section.

myWSU > Main Menu > Curriculum Management > Maintain Schedule of Classes > Meetings tab > Notes/Request field

  • Setting Class Status to Tentative or Cancelled Section will:

    • Cancel the section for the current term.

    • Display status as Cancelled.

    • If Cancelled Section is used (before instruction begins), students are dropped from the class. Once instruction has started, this is not an option. It is preferred that Departments drop students and notify them before the class is cancelled.

Cancelled Section

  • Enrolled students are dropped from the course - Do NOT use after the start of the term when students are enrolled in the class. Instructions for dropping students.

  • Dropped students receive an email notifying them of the class cancellation.

  • Meeting pattern information is removed.

  • The section will NOT roll when the term is copied.

  • The section can be re-created in future terms in Maintain Schedule of Classes or Schedule New Class.

  • This is not an option after the term has started if students are enrolled in the class. Students must be dropped manually BEFORE Class Status can be updated to "Cancelled Section". See 3b. for more information.

Tentative Section

  • Enrolled students are NOT dropped from the class.

  • Meeting pattern information is retained, though Facility ID will be cleared.

  • The section will roll when the term is copied.

If a cancelled class is in a combined section, there are other considerations.

  • Global blended sections: Global will not cancel the class until all sections are cancelled on all campuses.

  • Videoconference sections: VC Scheduling will need to know if the other campus sections are also cancelled or are changing to a different instruction mode.

  • LMS Merged sections: When classes are not combined, but are merged in the LMS, the remaining sections may need to be flagged for Canvas. Use Maintain LMS Course Spaces to flag sections.